New Snapdragon 821/23

ryano'connorryano'connor Milwaukee, WI Posts: 16

Hearing this new Snapdragon processor tossed around lately -  would anyone be nervous to get a device with a new generation chipset without letting it prove itself first?   Considering the challenges had by the 810? 

Best Answer

• shibobyshiboby AppletonPosts: 121
    Accepted Answer

I'd give it a shot. worst case I could always root, unlock bootloader, and underclock or undervolt it to get the temperature down.

Answers

providing I can root and unlock bootloader on such a phone. but if I couldn't I wouldn't buy the phone.

• ryano'connorryano'connor Milwaukee, WI Posts: 16

thanks -  I've never done that to a phone before - i think its way out of my league.  I had no idea you could change that kind of technical hardware from the consumer side!

• runtohell121runtohell121 Analyst United StatesPosts: 2,217 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

I wouldn't be worry too much... I assume that manufacturers would have worked with Qualcomm and following Qualcomm's requirement for cooling the processor, as I would think Qualcomm already did some internal testing before actually releasing it to manufacturers and then the manufacturers do their own testing and design the phone around the cooling usually.

• ryano'connorryano'connor Milwaukee, WI Posts: 16

thanks - all great things to know. 

• dnewman007dnewman007 United StatesPosts: 3,524 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

I agree with you. It does not worry me either.

• louisdlouisd Arguer in Chief United StatesPosts: 1,133 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

Also remember this is just an iterative step from the 820.  Rumors have it that it is structurally identical to the 820 with one difference, higher supported clock speeds.