Bonkers. Cannot update stock firmware from official ZTE website. Z958. PICS

Hi

I have a ZTE Z958 running 5.1....ZTE has official update to 6.1 on the site in an update.zip (1.2gb). I tried the recommended method of storage card update and FAIL. I tried forced update via Android recovery (power button/vol) and FAIL. I even tried applying update via ADB and FAIL. I'm not a total newb but geeze..any guidance appreciated.

Error messages range from cannot mount sdcard to ...NOT a KS package...

Pics attached. Help and thanks

Comments

• jasonscarterjasonscarter United StatesPosts: 1,586 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭✭
  • pointbobpointbob WAPosts: 7 ✭✭✭

Thanks jason...I'm running 5.1....ZTE (BUILD Z958V1.0.0B14) ....I d/l the official update to 6.1 on the site in an update.zip (1.2gb)....(also I don't have an att sim...my phone is unlocked with tmobile)

edited December 20, 2017 1:21PM

Unlocked or not, that is an ATT device model. Not sure what might be wrong with the software on the ZTE site, but you should still be able to get the over the air update from ATT on WiFi. B14 looks to be the original software.

• DrakenFXDrakenFX United StatesPosts: 1,759 ✭✭✭✭✭✭✭✭

@pointbob

• Enable "OEM Unlock" , under developers option
    • packages/update.zip most be in the SD card
    • reboot to recovery and apply update via sdcard once more...

P.s. Before proceeding, open up the update.zip and make sure there is no other Zip file inside,

@DrakenFX said:
    @pointbob

• Enable "OEM Unlock" , under developers option
    • packages/update.zip most be in the SD card
    • reboot to recovery and apply update via sdcard once more...

P.s. Before proceeding, open up the update.zip and make sure there is no other Zip file inside,

Thanks Draken. I did what you said and OEM unlocked it. In the recovery I got passed the sd mount error but bizarrely the phone cannot see the update.zip file at all in the sd card directory.

It says CHOOSE A PACKAGE TO INSTALL : // Sdcard (no option for update.zip)